Big Loo Marx Prototype

gort

Hello everyone,

My name is Joe Markee. I have been a frequent visitor to Brian's web pages for many years although I haven't been registered until recently. My son Brian and I have been collecting toy robots for about 15 years. We have probably bought some from most of you who sell on ebay at some time or other. We collect all styles plastic, tin, old, new and repro's. Anyway I recently acquired this Big Loo prototype and I was wondering if anybody has seen anything like it before and any guesses about a value? It is molded in all silver /gray plastic. The head,arm,legs and base are a hard plastic similar to the production plastic. The chest is of a less hard plastic. It is just taped together (scotch tape) not glued. It doesn't have any of the intenal parts. It does have four wheels that are blue not green, two of the orinal light bulb eyes (but no sockets for them) and three black darts. It has a Louis Marx and company sample tag from the west Virginia warehouse on it with the number 3010 on the back and the remains of some stickers with some hand written comments in spanish with mold numbers. I got this from a guy who lives in Girard Pa where one of the Marx factories was. He said he got this and a bunch of other items which had not been previously auctioned off and had been sitting in the warehouse since the late 70's when the warehouse closed. He said there was a black one like it that is in the Marx Toy museum in Erie Pa. Anybody seen anything like this before? Any guesses of what it might be worth?

Thanks

post-2-1052488497_thumb.jpg

I heard someone had bought the molds a while back & was actually reproducing big loo's..& selling them as originals for nearly todays prices & that it has been a very low key hush hush kind of thing ..that doesn't mean your robot isn't authentic nonetheless I would research the seller a bit more..& I can't say my info was 100% accurate