Pyrotomic Disintegrator Pistol...Sold at Auction

Tinman

I've been watching this auction over the past week and wondering what it is; I'm no expert but the color doesn't seem right and the wear on the plastic is odd.  I've never held one in my hand so maybe the plastic is similar to the older Archer Spacemen, almost fibrous and the wear points.  I thought it may have been a prototype or test shot; any thoughts?

a1.jpg.7bc026df37cf14d77a2af03aab76371c.jpga2.jpg.0e435be6be16bd636b0747da7d9db845.jpga3.jpg.126565bda53964565b53e42b3ae17ca7.jpg

a4.jpg

a5.jpg

The color is unusual but I wonder what a regular bronze one would look like after 70 years in Lake Erie? It's well advertised, with a tantalising back story. 

You'd need to be an enthusiast to add this to your collection. 

Here's the auction:  Pyrotomic Gun

Was watching this too. At first I thought it was a red version that was severely faded from sunlight as red fades to yellow. But now that you mention it Brian maybe it was a submerged bronze version because the fading is so consistent on both sides and the trigger color does look like the silver color that the bronze version trigger came in.

I think it is from a production piece as prototypes or test shots would not have the patent info embossed on them. 

Now that I look closer I think I do see wear marks similar to fish fins. Poor little Nemo lost his toy. Buyer beware! He's been known to leave the water!

If you look at the "clock" at the base of the grip you can see that it does not have the pyro pendent logo on it like mine, I would say its a Canadian gun. Probably lost during the ALPHA ARCTIC WARS of long ago in the imagination of some 12 year old.

IMG_1302.JPG

It's funny (or maybe not funny) but I only looked at the pictures and never scrolled down to the story; here it is in case the auction goes away: