Coronavirus And Collecting

Brian..

I guess it's the elephant in the room. I wonder how it's impacting the hobby. For the first time in my life I can understand how my parents must have felt when war was declared. It's a scary time. 

I certainly feel that it puts the collecting into some sort of context. It's such a minor preoccupation at a time of upheaval. I'm inclined to put collecting on the back burner until normality is resumed. I'm looking at months of semi-isolation. I'm not concerned for myself - I'd rather catch the virus and get it over with, but my wife is slightly more vulnerable. At least I'll have the time to do some repairs to the house and to work on some long overdue 3D projects. And I'll finally sit down to listen to those operas that I've been promising myself for twenty years. 

I won't be attending toy shows. The big NEC show is on this weekend but I bet numbers will be down. I was the only person in the local library yesterday. The government has just advised against attending public gatherings and it's better to play safe. They've even closed the Grand National. So if I do buy, it's going to be online. But even that presents problems: I'm concerned about opening sealed packages from the high-impact areas like Italy and Spain, though it's probably irrational. The internet is also showing signs of strain as people entertain themselves at home. 

One fortunate consequence of 3D printing is that I have a ready supply of IPA, the solvent used to clean resin off prints. It's the main ingredient of hand sanitiser, so I'm sitting on gallons of the stuff. Now if I only had toilet roll, I'd be sitting pretty. I wonder if I can use IPA, or will it sting?

• Replies 147
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• RoboDerby

• Brian..

• Fineas J. Whoopie

• Ranger