Getting Started In 3D printing

RoboDerby

Admittedly, I have a lot to learn in regards to building my own robots, even more to learn in order to create ones that move. But I would like to start thinking about getting my feet wet in 3D printing. I have no experience with 3D printing, nor do I have any knowledge of CAD. Any suggestions on good 3D printers that I could learn with, but also will be capable of quality production once I have developed some skills? Also, is there a particular software that I might be able to start with that doesn’t necessarily require knowledge of Cad, but that might help a beginner start building better knowledge and skills in this regard? I intend to research these topics further, but wondered if anyone here might be willing to weigh in. Thanks to all.

CAD first, printer second.

Design Spark Mechanical is free and is relatively easy to use. There are tutorials on line that will guide you through the early stages. See if you can get along with it before you think about a printer.

There are plenty of good quality printers that can be had for about $300. The market changes by the week so wait until you're sure you want to commit. Fusion printing (layers of plastic) is easiest to work with but I've started looking in earnest at resin printers; they produce amazing quality but they are smelly and messy. 

I would recommend anyone to try 3D printing. It isn't half as difficult as people would have you think.