Space.Trucks' Space Garage & Showroom

space.trucks

Name is Steve by the way, artist/curator by trade from Central New York. "Space.Trucks" is an Instagram handle I came up with for a project about Toys as Art which started out focused on futuristic die cast vehicles but led back into Space Toys where I belong. Was born in 1967, picking up right where I left off in about 1978 which is when this picture was taken by my mom, also an artist.

IMG_2152a.jpg

The only surviving fragment is the astronaut in the LM and finding him in January was the catalytic event which led me here. I was the knucklehead kid who would always pluck the astronauts out of my rockets, usually ruining them in the process. Now I want to make my own. 

Today was MoC/MiB/NoS Day, had a ball just looking at them all at last and I wish for everyone to have one soon as well. Have shown some on the other forums but let's make it official and start with the A-list "New Old Stock" material.

01IMG_2903.jpg

Two months of hard work there. "To Open or Not To Open", that is the Question. All were obtained under the premise of unsealing to be utilized in my art project as scale photography subjects .... We'll see, though some I have opened other units of, or obtained loose examples. Will share those up too. (None were opened but the Marx box and after taking pix all were sealed up in freezer bags, now decorating the walls of my studio where they are safe. Delighted just to gaze at them for now.)

02IMG_2572.jpg