Vintage Robot Fortune Teller from the U.K.

roboz

Back from exile , cam across this unique robot coin operated fortune teller made in England

uses the English Penny & finalized a deal for it . Had some trepidation as I'm still a novice in

collecting coin ops but this seems like a rare crossover piece

From a few collectors they seem to feel the machine is a 1930's -40's piece based on the fact that it used

a penny & most arcade operators wouldn't have made much profit from penny machines into the 50's & 60's

I will include a few pictures of the machine & hopefully some of you roboters from the UK can help ID this

particular machine. I have some reference photo's of other machines from the era but they do not look like

this machine at all. The functions are a back glass that illuminates a red & white bulb behind the eyes

the ears move & their is a roll mechanism that feeds the fortunes & a cutter chops them to dispense the fortune ticket

Anyway several of my coin op contacts like the machine & think it's unique but no one can ID it properly & there is no

Mfg markings. Back in the day many small craftsmen created these wonderful pieces in garage type set ups so unless

you have a distributor or mfg mark the history is tough to unravel

I am currently on the hunt for the machines from the reference photo's so if anyone comes across them I would offer a nice

finders fee

Cheers !

post-18-0-01320900-1373049225_thumb.jpg

post-18-0-61913300-1373049242_thumb.jpg

post-18-0-91912200-1373049546_thumb.jpg

post-18-0-67317500-1373049564_thumb.jpg

post-18-0-90512100-1373049585_thumb.jpg

John was able to find this photo of another 1930's British robot fortune teller though I can't tell if this is a trade show piece or coin op arcade piece

post-18-0-37266000-1373049930_thumb.jpg

Wow cool link Brian !! That robot looks almost the same as the one 'eric' in the first B&W photo